Suffrage News Notes: February 2013

FebNewsNotes

Wondering about these people sitting on Grandmother Edna Kearns’ suffrage wagon? L to R: My sister Winnie Culp, me at age 14, my George School friend Madge Passmore, my mother Wilma, and Grandfather Wilmer Kearns. It’s the time of the month for Suffrage Wagon news notes, and now –a special thanks to everyone who participated in One Billion Rising with us on February 14th. Here’s the report on the ongoing initiative. LINK.

News Notes: Masterpiece Theatre program, “Mr. Selfridge,” deals with shopping and suffrage. LINK. See also. LINK. Hundreds celebrate Susan B. Anthony’s birthday at special birthday luncheon. Link #1. Link #2. Friendship with suffragist Alice Paul noted as significant. Link #1. Link #2. A reminder about the 1913 suffrage parade centennial in Washington, DC the weekend of March 1-3, 2013 during Women’s History Month. LINK. Maryland state legislature commemorates 1913 suffrage parade. Link #1. Link #2. Video page link for “Women Suffrage March in Maryland General Assembly. Remembering Gerda Lerner and her contributions to women’s history. Link #1. Link #2. The controversy surrounding free love. Link #1. Link #2. Another call to repeal the 19th amendment. Link #1. Link #2. Promoting tourism in NYS through history. Link #1. Link #2. Innovative promotion of history. LINK. The suffrage quilt lives on. LINK.  Suffrage and super bowls. LINK. Kickstarter campaign for feature film about Susan B. Anthony and Elizabeth Cady Stanton. Link #1. Link #2. Regional Emmy for suffrage video “Bad Romance.” LINK.

The Sallie Bingham Center for Women’s History and Culture announces the availability of Mary Lily Research Grants for research travel to use its collections: LINK. Grants are available to any faculty member, graduate or
undergraduate student, or independent scholar with a research project
requiring the use of women’s history materials held by the Sallie Bingham
Center. March 29, 2013 is the deadline.

Visit Suffrage Wagon’s feature page to stay current with new updates. LINK.

9 responses to “Suffrage News Notes: February 2013

  1. If it wasn’t for you, I’d still be stuck in my high school version of women’s history that I didn’t particularly like. You make this fascinating. Bravo!!!!

  2. Really enjoy these news notes and the commentary to go along with it.

  3. Lots of useful links here. I love the “news notes” feature; it always gives me at least a couple of hours worth of digging into cool stuff.

    Please keep this feature going!

  4. I have shared your website in my social networks!

  5. Everything I could imagine to learn about this movement from the bottom up and how it continues until this day. I ask myself, How come I didn’t learn about this in school? Were the teachers asleep? Or didn’t they think it important?

  6. Is there another place to get this kind of news? I don’t think so. I look forward to following you on RSS feed.

  7. I went through all the links and found some awesome things to read about. I mean don’t get me wrong its tough times to read about but the amount of details that I got from them is huge!

  8. This saves me a lot of trouble figuring out what’s going on. I like the news notes links.

Leave a Reply

